Message from a Black Man

So, it’s Black History Month (and Chocolate Lover’s Month at Dunkin’ Donuts– but that’s neither here nor there… right?), and I’ve decided it’s a good time to share this lil’ jewel here. Around the early-’90s, when “black comedy” had kinda blown up through shows like Def Comedy Jam, In Living Color, and ComicView, a number of standups were getting TV shows and books and all type of shit.  One who’d been around for way longer had also gained some recognition- enough to get a deal with StepSun Records and drop his own standup comedy album.

Paul Mooney, who’d written material for Richard Pryor, Sanford & Son, and Good Times, and created In Living Color‘s “Homey the Clown” character, was also a great standup in his own right. A lot of his comedy revolved around race relations, and so, his 1993 debut comedy album was aptly titled Race. I’d read about it in The Source, but later that year, I actually heard it and laughed my ass off the whole way through. I was only 13, and some of the material was a little over my head, but it also interested me in finding out about some of the things he was discussing.

A friend of mine’s father had it and was playing it for his friends one day as I was at their house. They were rollin’ off that shit like they were at the comedy club themselves, and I was always up for a laugh, so I dubbed myself a copy on tape (wow) and took it home with me. From that point, I put everybody on to Race, from my mother and her friends to one of my teachers at school. I didn’t expect it, but it remains to this day the only comedy album that I listened to just as much as I did music.

Nobody was immune to Mooney’s wrath- White people, Black people, Arabs, Asians, Paula Abdul, Woody Allen, Cheers, MC Hammer, whoever! In fact, within the first 15 minutes, a woman catches feelings and leaves the show, but not before Paul tell her, “I hope when you get home, niggas are burglarizing your house- good night, ma’am!” His content has much to do with why he never broke through mainstream-wise, but in listening to Race and knowing Mooney’s style of comedy, I don’t think he’d have it any other way. At his most unfiltered and unedited, he goes in on everything past and present (for the time) that he wanted to. The result was a classic hour of comedy that I still listen to at least twice a year, and still laugh at. Paul can tell you better than I can, though… so here it is:

Mr. Paul Mooney- Race (1993)

-D!

7 Responses to Message from a Black Man

  1. upgrayedd says:

    i seen the richard pryor roast a few years ago. i was shocked to hear how mr. mooney gets down.

  2. bitchdoctrine says:

    bless! i’m excited to listen to this. you are always putting us on to something amazing… thanks

  3. shone jones says:

    I keep Paul Mooney’s albums on heavy rotation on my stereo.

  4. […] Message from a Black man……Danj Loves the 90s […]

  5. sickwitit says:

    paul mooney quotes:

    “fuck that fat-skinny bitch i don’t like her.” on oprah

    “you know that ole nosy ass bitch, ole hoe, slut, prostitute barbara walters.”

    “white folks didnt even know god until 9-11”

    “you know them light-skinned niggas marry each other and stay light”

    “niggas are under the illusion of inclusion.” on hollywood

    “that wild horse i dont like her” on beyonce

  6. Jhon da Analyst says:

    My buddy’s mom in Queens put us on to Paul Mooney when “Race” came out. I haven’t been the same since.

  7. MsYoung81 says:

    I have been heard of Mr. Mooney many years ago from my grandmother, who I took as someone who doesnt laugh very much or find things funny very often as my goofy ass. But when I did get around to hearing some things from Mr. Mooney, my God, my God. I aint been right since. Im sure us laughing at this fool we have a special place in hell. LOL The only other comedy albums that I own and listen to is Eddie Griffin’s first. I know all the jokes and still laugh like I never heard it before.

Leave a Reply

