“Martiiiiiinnnnnnn!”

As anyone who knows me can attest, I’m a big fan of comedy. Whether it’s stand-up, movies, or sitcoms, I’m into the funny shit (pause?).

If I had to list my favorite comedy performers, Martin Lawrence would have to at least be in the top 5. His movies of recent years have fallen way short, and he hasn’t really been the same since he started flippin’ out after “smokin’ that ooh-wee”, but I’ve laughed my ass off at that dude too many times to count. The one thing that truly him as one of my faves was his self-titled sitcom, Martin. From ’92 to ’97 on the FOX network, Martin and the cast put on a hell of a damn show.

Clearly, Martin was the star of the show, but a good deal of the humor also came from the other stars. In the role of “Gina”, Tisha Campbell started off as the voice of reason who had everything under control, but eventually became as comical as Martin was. Another character who went through some changes was “Tommy”, played by Thomas Ford. He was pretty much disposable in season 1, but when his “ah ah ah” laugh and mysterious/nonexistent job became a running joke, he was one of my favorite characters. Tichina Arnold‘s role as “Pam” also stood out, as her back-n-forth exchanges with Martin went strong for the show’s whole run. “Cole”, played by Carl Payne was always on point as the idiot friend who always managed to say and do the dumbest shit.

Martin was funny enough by himself as “Martin Payne”, but he also took on multiple roles with characters such as “Sheneneh“, “Otis“, “Jerome“, and others. Not sure about anybody else, but there’s been many a time where it’s slipped my mind that it was Martin doing the characters. I didn’t even look at them like it was him in a costume; I laughed at them like they were separate cast members. Some of my favorite scenes from the show included these personas- i.e. “Elroy Preston”, the mechanic who couldn’t stop singing “don’t cha know no good” or “Mama Payneflippin’ the fukk out when her bird died.

After season 2 was over, the show moved away from Martin’s job at the WZUP radio station and headed towards him hosting his own talk show on TV. Along with that change, the characters of “Stan” (played by Garrett Morris) and “Sean” (played by Jonathan Gries) were cut. Martin also cut back some of his extra roles and added new recurring characters played by other actors. The most notable were “Hustle Man” (played by Tracy Morgan), “Marian” (the alcoholic woman who pops up at every party), and “Ms. Geri” (the old lady that always ends up fighting Martin). But the best of ’em all was “Bruh Man”, who stayed showin’ up at the most random times to borrow Martin’s shit and make “sammiches”.

As much as I love the show, that fifth season was where shit fell off. Part of it was due to Martin’s personal issues clearly taking their toll on him creatively. More than anything, the biggest trouble came when Tisha Campbell left the show after accusing him of sexual harrassment. Without “Gina”, the show lost an important part of what made it work. At one point, Tisha was about to be replaced by Regina King, but she decided to come back. Even after that, it didn’t work because she refused to do any scenes with Martin. The ratings fell off as well, and by early-’97, it was canceled. There were a few decent episodes in the season, but for the most part, Martin died while it was on its last leg.

It’s been off the air for 13 years, but in syndication ever since, and I’ve watched every episode of that shit at least 20 times. Even now, I’m quick to pop in one of those season DVD’s and laugh at an episode like I’ve never seen it before. Up until the last season, there was rarely ever a show that went by without a memorable quotable or segment. Martin had its share of detractors due to its content (especially the NAACP), but to those who tuned in to catch it every week like myself, it was some of the most comical shit ever.

My Martin Top 10:

10- Dragon Fly Jones vs. Kenji

9- Got The Draws!

8- Cole’s Toenail

7- Forever Sheneneh

6- Otis vs Donnie & Clyde

5- Pam Steals Martin’s Steelo

4- You Gon’ Gimme Some Change

3- That Ain’t No Damn Puppy!

2- Cole, Sitcha $5 Ass Down ‘Fore I Make Change!

1- Martin vs. Tommy Hearns

-D!

25 Responses to “Martiiiiiinnnnnnn!”

  1. Alexis says:

    I love Martin. My favorite episodes were when we saw Bruhman and Shanenah (how ever you spell her name). My Aunt has the entire box set series and when you get to the 4th and 5th seasons you can really tell when the show starts to fall off. But it did get boring when Gina was appearing less and less, because they tried to make it entirely about jokes between Pam and Martin or about Tommy’s job. And the funniest thing to me when they started to fall off was Cole’s romances…too hilarious!!

    • Danj! says:

      Yeah… the Martin/Gina combo was important, and it showed when she left. The Martin/Pam back-and-forth was good but to do it every week for the whole show didn’t work.

      Bruhman was my dude- he had his own lil’ fanbase with just a handful of appearances.

      Agreed on Cole and his girls. One good thing with the last season was when Cole got w/ the dumb girl Shanice, lol.

      ‘preciate the comment!

      -D!

      -D!

  2. Cellina says:

    Shanaynay!!!

    This is so funny. I would watch this show religiously when I was a kid. I think I scared my parents with how much I liked it. But, then again, I scared my parents with just about everything I did/liked!

    • Danj! says:

      Haaaaaaa! You scared me, that’s for sure, LOL.

      I watched it the same way. It jumped around on the schedule quite a bit, but I always caught it.

      -D!

  3. MsYoung81 says:

    I dont know one person who didnt love Martin. I remember making sure I was in the house to watch it so that we could talk about it in the morning on the way and at school. It wasnt nothing like it. I guess you can say that Martin was like out generations version of Richard Payor and Eddie Murphy. I think I kinda stop watching before the show actually was cancelled just becuz I got bored with it. I did start watching it again becuz I heard about Gina leaving and wanted to see how they were going to play that shit off. I didnt know that they were thinking about getting Regina King. I love her, but it wasnt no way in hell that she was going to play Gina. Im sorry. That show would have been cancelled soon becuz of that fuckery. Martin is classic and the sad shit about it is that nothing has ever been close to touching the shows Epicness. I just made that up. LOL *blows kiss*

    • Danj! says:

      C/S on goin’ back to school w/ the quotables. When that ‘Forever Sheneneh’ show aired, everybody came to school singin’ that shit the next day.

      Regina King’s a great actress, but def. not a Gina. Tisha actually became a very good comedic actress in that role. If Regina woulda been able to match that, I’da been surprised, but I’ma say she wouldn’t have been able to.

      -D!

  4. jayehunnie says:

    Yeah bwoyeeee! A Martin blog. My favorite episodes (The Courtroom show and their trip to Chilligan’s Island) were mentioned so I had to click the links.

    I STILL have not forgiven Tisha Campbell for the drama caused behind the scenes. *smh* How the fuck do you play the wife of the show’s main character and expect to never be in a scene with him ever again? Messy, I swear!

    *gone to watch some more clips*

    “Da knees! … Pump it, pump it, pump it…”

    • Danj! says:

      The whole court joint is straight laughs… THE DAY OF THE GEECHIE IS OVA!

      Yeah, that Tisha Campbell shit just kilt it. And then, she comes back and won’t be in the same room as him. So we supposed to watch them talk on the phone on a split screen for a whole year? Fukkattahere.

      LOL @ “the knees”… that’s a good episode too- “Gina’s outta control, I’m outta control, this whole damn party’s outta controoollll!”

      -D!

  5. Cristin says:

    Thursday at 8! I don’t know ANYBODY who wasn’t in front of the TV esp. once they had Living Single and NY Undercover on after. Fox hasn’t been the same since.

    Your list was so on point. My list would definitely have Jerome (ANY episode) and “Hustle Marsalis.”
    PICK UP THE PIECES!

    • Danj! says:

      That Thursday lineup was greatness. Of course they had to fukk with it and try to change it up, but that lineup was dead on-point. Which reminds me… I gotta go in on NY Undercover one of these days too.

      OHHH, how’d I forget Hustle Marsalis, LMAO… and yeah, Jerome was my man too.

      “I say Jerome… I say Jero-ro-ro-riggy-riggy-riggy- rome’s in the houuuuse!”

      -D!

  6. steevie says:

    YAAAAAAASSSSSSSSS!

    I’m from the UK where they never showed Martin but i randomly came across it on Youtube about 8 months ago. I AM HOOKED!!!
    I’ve watched every episode at least 6 times and i have seasons 1 and 2 on my iTunes lmfao I love it!!

    I really loved Stan, he was so damn ruthless!
    Martin: Everytime i don’t think you can get any lower Stan, you take me to the kerb”
    Stan: Yeah? well let me take you to the gutter.

    ^^^^ that comment had me rolling for HOURS. ROTFLMAO.

    • Danj! says:

      Aw wow… you just got up on Martin 8 months back? I know it’s gotta be EXTRA-hilarious for you to see all those episodes then. Season 2 was my favorite of all… classics back-to-back!

      Stan did go hard- “my mother gave me a hard time… ‘Stan, please don’t take my heart medicine’… nag, nag, nag” LMAO

      -D!

  7. steevie says:

    oh gosh..hussle man was a legend!

    “this right here’s chitlin loaf! This go down slow and don’t come up rough!”

    ROTFLMAO

  8. sickwitit says:

    favorite show evah, martin was still funny(no shade)

    • Danj! says:

      Yep… hate to say it, but I haven’t been crazy about most of his movies he’s made since then. I actually think it’d be crazy if he did a movie with all the characters he used to do on the show. Instant classic.

      -D!

  9. ladiinikki says:

    All I gotta say is… RENT ‘EM SPOONS!!!!!! lol

  10. chels says:

    all seasons are on dvd i own 1 through 4 , still need season 5 >:/

    • Danj! says:

      i need to get like you… I still gotta get 3 and 4… not too crazy about 5, but I guess I’ll try to catch it for $9.99 or somethin’

      -D!

  11. Newark88 says:

    I don’t care where you were. Thursday night at 8, you turned on Fox to watch the best show on TV, Martin. That show is a staple in not just black comedy but sitcoms in general. Back in the late 80’s/early to mid 90’s, there was a renaissance in black sitcoms. Me and my parents still have tons of VHS tapes from when we use to tape The Cosby Show, A Different World, Martin, Def Comedy Jam, Arsenio, Living Color etc.

    • Danj! says:

      Yup! That late-80s/early-’90s time period was on… the late-’90s is a lil’ debatable but it had some classics in there.

      I watch all sorts of shows, but it was great to see people who looked like me on TV every week. There was a time where, with the exception of ‘Cosby’, it was hard to spot some black folk on a sitcom or drama. Then, there were shows like ‘Different World’, which made goin’ to college look cool as shit. We could sure as hell use a show like that nowadays… matter of fact, I think I’ll stop there. Sounds like a future entry comin’ on…

      -D!

  12. Serg says:

    they’ve started to play this on the One channel on Time Warner..so I stay watching it. its so good to have it back. Hustle Marsalis was definitely one of the best episodes…but you cant forget the Pretty Ricky Fontaine episode…..”Pretty Ricky what they callllled ’em”

    • Danj! says:

      The Pretty Ricky one was classic for Gina, after she came home with her face all fucked up and high off the pills. She was a fool and a half on that one. She showed up at that class reunion and wil’t out.

      Gina: It’s OK baby, I can still goooo!
      Martin: HEEELLLL NO!

      -D!

  13. radionics says:

    radionics…

    […]“Martiiiiiinnnnnnn!” « DanjLovesThe90s![…]…

  14. Anonymous says:

    I’m readin this in 2023 and still watchin and lovin Martin… And fr fr my #1 fav episode is Martin vs Tommy Hearns too, and then that damn Suspicious Minds episode🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 omg…. Martin had me 💀💀💀 when he brought the stuffed dog out🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣💀💀💀💀

Leave a comment