Da Dirty 30

“You couldn’t pay me a milli to be born in the 80s. You guys can have Keyshia and Wayne. I have Mary and Biggie.” – dream hampton, October 2009

Mama told me one day it was gonna happen, but she never told me when. She said that it would happen when I was much older, I wish it woulda happened then. As of today, I am officially 30, and therefore officially an oldhead. Ah, well. *Kanye shrug*

I’ve been an oldhead for years anyway. Matter fact, I was lovin’ old music back when the old music I talk about on here was new. When I was 5 and Stevie Wonder was makin’ that “Part Time Lover” type shit, I was listening to his ’60s/’70s hits on my lil’ record player. Even as a teenager bumpin’ Mobb Deep and Jay-Z, I was still buyin’ Kane and EPMD tapes from the late-’80s.

Old movies and TV shows? Ditto! I still watch old Martin and Married With Children episodes like I haven’t seen ’em a GANG of times already. I just bought Krush Groove on DVD, and I remember when it was a new release at the video store. I SAW Gremlins IN THE MOVIES for fukk’s sake. *cringes*

I say all that to say this: it’s all good. You’ll get no “30’s the new 20” talk outta me- I willingly embrace my oldassness. Would I trade this shit to be 15, wearin’ tight jeans and doin’ the “You’re A Jerk” dance or whatever they call it? Hell nah. Would I rather be 10 years younger and likely have an infinite Gucci Mane playlist on my iPod? FUKK no! #NoShots at the young people at all, I’m just sayin’… not for me. See, I may be old enough to fondly recall stuff that the youngins don’t give a damn about, but I’m glad to have been there. I take pride in all my ancient shit- from that red and blue Helly Hansen jacket that’s still hangin’ up in my closet, to the purple tape I still own.

Annnd so, to all my fellow oldheads (30 and up), oldheads in training (25-29), and future oldheads (teens-early 20’s) who’ve been checkin’ out DanjLovesThe90s: today, I celebrate my life AND old shit. I give you... Da Dirty 30. No definitive list or anything of the sort, just 30 random ’90s joints I fux with, and now you can too (if you don’t already). Click away…

Jane Child “I Don’t Wanna Fall In Love (New Jack Remix)” (1990)

Brand Nubian “Step To The Rear” (1990)

Samuelle “So You Like What You See” (1990)

Chubb Rock “Just The Two Of Us” (1991)

Pebbles “Always” (1991)

DJ Quik “Tonite” (1991)

MC Ren “Final Frontier” (1992)

Portrait “Here We Go Again” (1992)

Double XX Posse “Not Gonna Be Able To Do It” (1992)

Intro “Let Me Be The One” (1993)

Dr. Dre feat. The Lady of Rage & Tha Dogg Pound “Puffin’ On Blunts & Drinkin’ Tanqueray” (1993)

Shanice “It’s For You” (1993)

Black Moon “Buck ‘Em Down (Remix)” (1994)

Dru Down “Pimp Of The Year” (1994)

Nas feat. AZ “Life’s A Bitch (Remix)” (1994)

Mary J. Blige “Everyday It Rains” (1995)

Da Youngsta’s “I’ll Make U Famous” (1995)

Onyx “Last Dayz” (1995)

New Edition feat. Missy Elliott “You Don’t Have To Worry (Bad Boy Remix)” (1996)

Monifah “You” (1996)

Mo Thugs feat. Krayzie & Layzie Bone “Thug Devotion” (1996)

Brand New Heavies feat. Q-Tip “Sometimes (Remix)” (1997)

Rome “I Belong To You” (1997)

OutKast feat. Babyface “Jazzy Belle (Remix)” (1997)

Chico DeBarge & Joe “No Guarantee (Remix)” (1998)

Scarface feat. Devin The Dude, Too $hort, & Tela “Fuck Faces” (1998)

Ol’ Skool feat. XScape & Keith Sweat “Am I Dreaming” (1998)

LL Cool J “Ill Bomb” (1999)

Montell Jordan “Get It On Tonite” (1999)

Pharoahe Monch feat. Redman, Method Man, Lady Luck, & Shabaam Sahdeeq, & Busta Rhymes “Simon Says” (Remix) (1999)

-D! (Be back on Monday… Enjoy…)

21 Responses to Da Dirty 30

  1. Newark88 says:

    Happy Birthday, I turned 30 last year. And I def wouldn’t changed that to be 10 years younger.

    • Danj! says:

      Yeah man… even if I could be 15 again thru some kinda magical fukkery, I think it’d also have to include being in ’95 again, haha.

      -D!

  2. Vincent says:

    Hopefully, you’re a year wiser as well. Make sure you have a good time celebrating. And I’ll be joining the aging ranks of Eminem, Snoop and Shaq in a week and a half. Getting older isn’t so bad.

    • Danj! says:

      True… I mean, not everything about bein a youngin was great. I enjoyed bein’ 15, but I also didn’t have any money, so there ya go…

      -D!

  3. Brown_Pride says:

    *tear* 2.1 years till I hit the 30 mark, but loving the list. keep up the good shyt. *does the You’re A Jerk Dance out the post*

  4. Cellina says:

    You’re dealing with the dirtay thirtay well! I can’t wait ’til I’m there myself, to be honest with ya. You brought back lots of memories from years past, and cracked me up, boy. Enjoy YOUR day!

    Chilli

    • Danj! says:

      Well you know I’m always glad to crack you up and provide entertainment and nonsense. You got what, a couple more years? I know you’ll have a ball w/ that.

      -D!

  5. The baby pic is soooo cute!

    *hugs Danj*

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 😀

    *hugs again*

    -thehoustongirl

  6. Neka says:

    So I don’t know you aside from reading this blog, but I’ve been looking for Shanice’s “It’s for you” for years and seeing it on this list makes me feel like it’s my birthday.

    Happy Birthday!!!

    • Danj! says:

      I’m glad to have spread the cheer… and yeah, ‘It’s For You’ was some good shit (besides the “rap”, lol) Thanx for checkin’ it out!

      -D!

  7. Ollie Williams says:

    *shoulder leans*

  8. Miss jia says:

    Aww happy birthday, poo!

    I turn 30 in June and unlike YOU, I’m not looking forward to it. who the fuck wants to be out of their 20s? shit me….*cries*

    I’m going on a cruise though. maybe that’ll make me feel better!

    Love you!

    • Danj! says:

      Ohhhh wait- nobody said I was lookin’ fwd to officially leavin’ the 20s, hahahaha. I took all year to come to terms with that part! Danj Hates The 30s… but I guess I gotta live with ’em.

      Love!

      -D!

  9. Marc says:

    Happy belated man! Its alright bro, I turned 30 this past August. Its an adjustment, but once you accept it, you will be aight.

    • Danj! says:

      True, true… I hit a club/bar spot the other night and I def. realized it even more, so it appears my acceptance stage is in full effect already, haha

      -D!

  10. Tierrrrrd says:

    Hey, be thankful that least you made it this far in life and hopefully your in good health and surrounded by people who care about you. 40’s just around the corner!!!

  11. Mark Dub says:

    Awww man….Happy Belated Born Day. The only thing I noticed different when I hit 30 was that my metabolism slowed down. Fuggit… LOL! Thanks for posting all of these memory evoking tracks.

Leave a comment