10 Things I Liked About The 2010 BET Awards

Aight, so… a year ago, I dissed BET for puttin’ on a half-assed show that was advertised as “a tribute to Michael Jackson“. I’ve prob’ly referred to BET in a shitty light a number of times on other occasions too. But as much as I dis them for their wack shows and their overall lack of givin’-a-shit, I can also admit that they came correct this year. I wasn’t gonna watch the BET Awards, because I usually don’t, but Twitter fukked around and pulled me in. I figured “ay, what the hell- at least if it sucks, me and my Twitter fam will provide quality jokes and observations”. Lo and behold, these niggas put on the best one I’ve seen since ’03. Well I’ll be damned.

1- Chris Brown’s MJ Tribute: Speakin’ of people redeeming themselves… I can’t front on the boy CB. His three-minute tribute to Mike was better than the whole three hours last year. After all the whinin’ and complainin’ he did over the last year, he did the only thing he had to do in the first place to get his props again… went out there and gave a great performance. He also cried, so sympathy was in full effect. But even without the tear-shedding, dude deserved the standing O. Michael approves.

2- Trey Songz’ moms: Bruh, I thought that was your girl. Hope you didn’t let her come to the afterparty with you. Ms. Songz gonna play around and get smashed by one of the homies like LeBron‘s mama did. YUUUUUUP!

3- El DeBarge… my nigga: Hate to say it, but when some of them older artists make appearances on award shows, they sound like they ain’t been on stage since their last hit. But nah, not the homie Eldra. M’man went through “All This Love”, “I Like It”, “Time Will Reveal”, and “Rhythm of the Night” like it was ’85 out this muhfukka.

4- Prince Gettin’ His Props: One of my favorite artists got a Lifetime Achievement tribute, with a lot more of those to come for sure. Game… blouses.

5- Watchin’ it while on Twitter: Straight entertainment. Best comment was a 3-way tie between Monica looks like the Wu-Tang symbol” (B.Dot from RapRadar), “Y’all gonna stop callin’ Prince gay. He will take your woman. Then wear her shoes” (Katchin05), and Kirk Franklin got a laptop behind his piano watchin’ Jada Fire scenes” (some nigga named DANJ!)

6- John Legend’s zeeked hairline: not to mention, his emo-tional neck-rolling, finger-snappin’ Twitter response to ey’body jokin’ him. You soft, duke… you soft.

7- Alicia Keys: Months pregnant with her Swizz baby, still lookin’ more gooder than a muhfukka on stage, for both her solo spot AND her portion of the Prince tribute. Climbin’ on top of a piano, singin’ “Adore” >>>>>>> ey’thing.

8- “Hatin’ is for suckas… and you know who I’m talkin’ to, you hatin’ ass crab!”: Ya man Diddy on the post-show, pumped-up off that Ciroc, in response to recent shots fired by Fiddy. Of course when they smooth out their differences, he’s gonna deny it was aimed at him, but it’s always good to hear Puff channel his “My Downfall” voice. Jealousy’s a muthafukka, you weak jealous muthafukkas.

9- Kanye’s performance of “Power”: Leave it to that character to do nothin’ but stand on a mountain with a big goofy-ass chain, fake snow, smoke, and a background screen with all kinds of atmospheric shit goin’ on… and make it a memorable performance.

10- Knowin’ that when the smoke clears… there’ll still be plenty more occasions to joke the shit outta BET, but at least they were on their A+ game this time out. Some stuff was better than others, but nothin’ particularly offensive. This is what it looks like when it’s well done. Props.

-D!

24 Responses to 10 Things I Liked About The 2010 BET Awards

  1. Mark Dbu says:

    Co-signage at 1000%, Captain. BET rocked the shit out of the park this year. Of course, they lowered the bar so much last year that it was really easy for them to shine this year.

    “Game…blouses”

    ^^^^ That shit right there, sir? Hilarity Clinton. Oh, and I like the Michael approves pic. I will be using that one (per your permission, of course). Great post.

  2. Mark Dub says:

    P.S. The sign-on USUALLY reads “Mark Dub”, but my dyslexia is on full-blast today. Sorry.

  3. Moe says:

    BEENNNN saying that tha boy CB shouldve bn done the Mike Jackson tribute—I’m most def a Usher fan but CB was (& has bn more than ne other of these other dancin dudes) aon his Mike swag like Alfonso Ribiero back in the day! Trey Songz did not f up “Purple Rain” cuz I luv him! Lol & Danj u sound like my gurl—she refuses to watch BET & makes fun of me cuz Im an awards show head. i think she wishes cable came a la carte so she cld refuse BET! She makes me sick! Anyway as soon as i imagined the Wu symbol in my head & Monica’s dress I laffed out loud. Silly. i always think the shows hv good parts every yr but i’m biased. oh yeah i hate kanye’s new song!

    • Danj! says:

      Ya man Prince was givin’ Trey Songz the crazy look like how he gave Charlie Murphy, lol…

      Yeah, as far as watching the show… I dunno, I grew to be bored with watching the BET Awards because they got pretty damn weak after the first few years (even tho’ the ’03 one was greatness)… I hadn’t seen one since ’05, then I tuned in last year for the MJ thing and that sucked… so I wasn’t gonna watch this year either. But, good thing I caved in and watched anyway. Gotta say they did their thing.

      -D!

  4. sickwitit says:

    1)awww chris
    3)yaaassss, i love that man

    6) i didnt even notice it lol he such a queen for that response…

    7)i was prayin her ass didnt fall lol

    8)i have a love/hate relat. wit puffy, i love the way he IS the party, him and taraji were drunk ass hell lol but i hate his ego at times, it can be annoying…

  5. bitchdoctrine says:

    Best recap. CB killed it. The whole thing was better than fifty dudes doing it last year. “Man in the Mirror” got him choked up, but the whole song? We don’t believe you, we need more people.

    Monica and Deniece Williams looked like voltron or something.

    Kanye’s neckpiece busted him in the damn nuts, according to @Missinfo

    Alicia keys was amazing, lost my mind when she hopped on the piano

    DWL @ Prince’s facial expressions. He was NOT feeling Trey Songz version. I lived for Miss Patti Patti. When she kicked off her shoes, I was through!

    • Danj! says:

      Yoooooo if that Kanye shit is true… *laughs and points* All that POOOWWWWWER.

      Yep, A.Keys is a performer for real- she does her thing… even while pregnant.

      Prince gave that nigga the stare of doom, hahahahahahaha… but how bout how he had a picture of himself on his shirt? Only Prince…

      -D!

  6. Alexis says:

    Maybe it was better, because it wasn’t on a Tuesday…

    • Danj! says:

      Ohhh yeah, check out BET having an award show on a Sunday… that channel has come a long way, because ain’t shit but Soloflex and Bowflex commercials use to come on Sundays on BET. No videos, no shows, but if you wanted to check out some workout equipment, that was the place to be.

      -D!

  7. TaraZ says:

    I chimed in late (9:30) and caught A.Keys, C Breezy,EL Dabarge (wooo weee) and the Tribute to Prince (formerly named Prince, the Symbol….). From what I saw I enjoyed. A.Keys frightened me when she went on the Piano but as always she looked and did a beautiful job. CHris, I love the fact the he came and represented. Upset that there are still so many against. Although not condoning its time to move past it. Ppl were criticizing him the next day – askin whether he was sincere. HUMBLE is all I am going to say. Trey Songz Mama.. Thought it was his girl too. Jealous!? YES, I was for a minute – then heard it was his Mama. I hope I looked that good when my sons are grown.. ;*) Good Job Danj!!

    • Danj! says:

      Hey… don’t I know you? (HAHA)

      Yep, was a good show through and throughout… if you can ever catch it when it airs again (and I’m sure you will cause they’ll prob. be showing it 30 more times this summer) be sure to.

      And yeah… the Chris Brown stuff has gotten old. It’d be one thing if the dude was Ike Turner, just beatin’ girls up regularly, but others have done way worse and were able to move on faster than CB has.

      -D!

  8. JustinTime says:

    Yo I can’t front, they did a good job until I realized they didn’t mention Guru once. Not once! Then Entourage season 7 premiered the same night as the BET Awards and played Gang Starr ‘Above The Clouds’ on the closing credits. How the hell did BET let that slide past em?

    • Danj! says:

      I’m actually not that surprised… not because he doesn’t deserve one, but because the people running that show probably don’t even know much about him or GangStarr… either that, or didn’t deem him “important” enough to do such a thing… still quite an oversight though.

      -D!

  9. bitchdoctrine says:

    Hollywood love wifebeaters ask Charlie Sheen.

    Except for Ike Turner. “Eat the cake, Anna Mae” and that was it…

    • Danj! says:

      Now you notice… Charlie ain’t still walkin’ around with that hanging over his head… and that was just two, three months ago… I’m just sayin’. I’m just sayin’.

      -D!

      • ashlei says:

        Yea, notice how Charlie Sheen hasn’t gotten in trouble a few times for supposedly beating his girls… yet they talk about now he’s making about a million an episode for “Two and a Half Men?!?” But when Isiah Washington called a co-star “gay,” they kicked him off the show and didn’t even accept him public apology lol. Seems kind of messed up to me! I can’t even find anything virtually funny about that Charlie Sheen show.

  10. dinastyinc says:

    Yeah, BET earned themselves a redemption card in my book, so the next time they fuck up, they have a get out of jail free card. Now anytime thereafter, you will get the Prince side eye. Exhibit A: http://tweetphoto.com/29689728.

    My favorite moments of the night had to be Alicia (who looked absolutely flawless), Tyrese (who’s performance was overshadowed by Chris’s tears and Trey’s whining) and El…they didn’t even announce the man the first time; he just started singing, and I about gave birth to a baby cow.

    But back to Chris and Trey > http://tweetphoto.com/29691132 < Same person?

    • Danj! says:

      Ayoooooo… the Prince side-eye was straight comedy.

      But yeah, check out BET puttin’ in some work on an award show. I missed a few of ’em, but the last one I seen that good was the ’03 joint, which just had everything hot that year right on point.

      -D!

Leave a comment