S, S, Double, Double U, To The V

12/01/2009

First off, welcome to December on DanjLovesThe90s, where I’ll not only be covering my usual ’90s madness, but a few notable things from this decade as well. Everyone’s done their best 50 albums and best 200 singles and best 500 Youtube videos and whatnot, so I won’t bother with that. But there’s some stuff I did wanna speak on, because I was still into music during the ’00s (although considerably less as the years went on).

But today, I’m here to talk about three girls who pretty much popped up out of nowhere in late-’92 and had become kinda like a big deal by mid-’93. Their original name prior to coming out was TLC (Taj, Lelee, & Coko), but due to the existence of this other group you may have heard of, they couldn’t keep it. Instead, they decided to call themselves Sisters With Voices, also known as SWV.

Read the rest of this entry »