A Very Special Christmas… For Meeeeeeee

Happy Holidays, readers. It’s Christmas Eve on DanjLovesThe90s. Hang all the mistletoe, y’all gonna get to know me better.

My favorites Christmases were mostly in the ’80s and early-’90s. From He-Man, WWF, and G.I. Joe action figures to Nintendo and Sega Genesis, my yuletide presents were the shit. But my favorite Christmas, and really my last major gift-receiving one, was in 1994. That was the year that I got something I’d been wanting for a whole two years: my first-ever turntable set.

After I saw Juice in late-’92, I wanted to be a DJ. I would go inside the stores and look at the turntables and records on some window shopper shit. In between that and listening to radio mixshows and mixtapes, I was dyin’ to get my own set. Finally on X-Mas Eve ’94, I got ’em and went nutso.

I was on those things every single day, and I was obsessed with buying records. Even in the winter, I would take a half-hour walk downtown with $10 to pick up ONE single. It was nothing for me to spend $6.29 on a record, get a McDonald’s value meal for $3.14 and walk home. There was actually more good music out at the time than I could afford, but I sure as hell did my best to get as many as I could. I wasn’t buying tapes anymore, wasn’t much into buying clothes either… the vinyl fund was in full effect.

I wore my set out until the belt drives broke and I had to upgrade. A lot of the stuff I’d gotten prior to that were mostly toys that I’d be done with by the following year, but these were some other shit. From ’94 to ’99, I used ’em nonstop and even made some money as a result. By far, those Gemini XL-BD10s and mixer were the best Christmas presents I ever got.

The first six records I bought:

Pete Rock & CL Smooth “Take You There”

Group Home “Supa Star”

ERULE “Listen Up”

Boogiemonsters “Recognized Thresholds Of Negative Stress”

O.C. “Time’s Up”

Mary J. Blige feat. Keith Murray “Be Happy (Remix)”

BONUS:

-D! (give love on Christmas Day!)

6 Responses to A Very Special Christmas… For Meeeeeeee

  1. MERRY CHRISTMAS (Happy Kwaanza now) πŸ˜€ OMG I’ve seen you post up that E-Rule – Listen Up and thought I was the ONLY one that jammed that song! I listen to it damn near every nite (smoke break) and heard the song a looong time ago on XM and instantly downloaded it πŸ˜€

    It gotta be a gem if it makes it to my mp3 player!

    I also like Group Home “Supa Star” also. Thank goodness for XM radio!

    *high fives Danj*

    πŸ˜€

    -thehoustongirl

    • Danj! says:

      That ERule joint was def. in my ear that year… they used to play it on my fav. radio show back then (Strictly Hip-Hop on 88.9) all the time, and then the vid came out and I was ON IT…

      happy Kwanzaa to you too, Houston!

      -D!

  2. MsYoung81 says:

    Hey babe. I hope your Christmas was good. My favorite Christmas was the last one I had with my mom before she passed. I didnt have a cd player yet and a good friend of mine knew that I loved Lenny Kravitz and brought me his best of cd to force me to buy a cd player. Well that year my mom brought me a small stereo with a cd player. Im glad I cherished that time with her becuz by September she was gone. She also brought my daughter a kitchen set that my daughter (now 11) still has and she will not get rid of it. :0)

    You, my lil hiphop rolodex. I forgot all about the E-Rule song. I remember my cousin use to come down from New York and everytime she would come she would bring me the hottest mixtapes ever and the E Rule song was on one. I think I listened to all my tapes until they popped. *blows kiss*

  3. Todd Whitney says:

    Happy Holidays fam. Sorry, I’m late with it, but we’ve been busy with the fam.

    All I have to say bout this post is…O.C.’s “Times Up”…WHOA! Still significant to this day. Amazing song!

    Have a great New Years homie.

Leave a comment