Da Dirty 30: 2000s

Annnd So… after Eminem‘s controversy, Jeezy‘s Snowman shirts, Puffy’s trial (and name changes), Michael/Aaliyah/Jam Master Jay/ODB/Left Eye/Pimp C/Pun/EY’BODY’s death, the breakup of Roc-A-Fella, the fall-off/comeback/second fall-off of Mariah Carey, the disappearance and tragic-lookin’ reappearances of Lauryn Hill, Crunk, Hyphy, Snap, “Intimate Club Music” (blah), the rise of the Southern hip-hop, the decline of New York hip-hop, 9/11, a dumb president, a Black president…

G-Unit vs. Murder Inc., The Game‘s bipolarity, Keyshia Cole‘s fukked-up family, DMX‘s crackish ways, Tweet‘s song about masturbation “self-love”, the all-around fuckery that was “My Neck My Back”, Nelly sliding credit cards down asscracks, that thong-tha-thong-thong-thong, Wayne‘s Carter series, Usher‘s Confessions, Rihanna getting “Chris Brown-ed” by Chris Brown, Da Band walking for cheesecake, the “Hip-Hop Is Dead” debate…

Throwback jerseys, button-ups, long-ass tees, tight-ass jeans, grillz, BET going to shit, Rick Ross getting exposed, Suge gettin’ knocked the fukk out, Cam’ron wearing pink, R. Kelly pissing on youngins, Alicia Keys wreckin’ homes, Jay-Z becoming a devil worshipper, Jay-Z “retiring”, Beyonce doing eyyy’thing, Mike Jones‘ phone number, Jadakiss’ asthma cough/laugh, Lil’ Jon‘s adlibs, Superhead‘s book, Tahiry‘s ass, Trina’s ass, Buffie’s ass, J.Lo’s ass, Lil’ Kim‘s ass bid, Shyne‘s bid, T.I.‘s bid, Freeway‘s beard, Ashanti‘s sideburns…

Autotune, iTunes, iPods, iPhones, 2-way pagers, ringtones, Being Bobby Brown, SMACK DVDs, BEEF DVDs, singers with names like Lumidee and T-Pain, rappers with names like Chingy and Webbie,  OutKast winning Grammys, Three 6 winning Oscars, Kanye crying over awards, every rapper in existence making mixtapes, rampant file sharing and downloading, Harlem Shakin’, leanin’ back, leanin’ wit’ it, rockin’ wit’ it, crankin’ dat Soulja Boy, jerkin’, and “ballllliiiinnnnnnnn’“…

…as promised, 30 joints from this decade. Again, not a definitive list, but all songs I gave a shit about at some point. We get back to the ’90s next week. In the meantime, enjoy (or not):

Amil feat. Jay-Z, Memphis Bleek, & Beanie Sigel “4 Da Fam” (2000)

M.O.P. “Ante Up” (2000)

Jagged Edge feat. Rev. Run “Let’s Get Married (Remix)” (2000)

Faith Evans “I Love You” (2001)

Erick Sermon feat. Marvin Gaye “Music” (2001)

Case “Missing You” (2001)

Truth Hurts feat. Rakim “Addictive” (2002)

Nas feat. Jadakiss & Ludacris “Made You Look (Remix)” (2002)

Amerie “Why Don’t We Fall In Love” (2002)

Jay-Z & Joe Budden “Pump It Up Freestyle” (2003)

Wayne Wonder “No Letting Go” (2003)

Diplomats “I Really Mean It” (2003)

Kanye West feat. Mos Def & Freeway “Two Words” (2004)

Mario Winans feat. P. Diddy “I Don’t Wanna Know” (2004)

Fabolous “Breathe” (2004)

Common “The Corners” (2005)

Keyshia Cole “You’ve Changed” (2005)

Three 6 Mafia feat. Young Buck, Eightball & MJG “Stay Fly” (2005)

Justin Timberlake feat. T.I. “My Love” (2006)

Ciara “Promise” (2006)

Outkast feat. Lil’ Wayne & Snoop Dogg “Hollywood Divorce” (2006)

Devin The Dude feat. Snoop Dogg & Andre 3000 “What A Job” (2007)

Omarion feat. Usher “Ice Box (Remix)” (2007)

Amy Winehouse “Tears Dry On Their Own” (2007)

Alicia Keys feat. LL Cool J “Teenage Love Affair (Remix)” (2008)

Cool Kids “Jingling” (2008)

Raphael Saadiq feat. Stevie Wonder “Never Give You Up” (2008)

Drake “Fear” (2009)

Sade “Soldier Of Love” (2009)

Jay Electronica “Exhibit C” (2009)

Thanks to all y’all who’ve been reading DLT90s in 2009, and see y’all next year.

-D!

15 Responses to Da Dirty 30: 2000s

  1. sickwitit says:

    its been a great decade, i think 9/11 and obama defined the 00’s

    • Danj! says:

      Def. top 5 defining events… matter fact, top 3. I’d also say the ongoing war in Iraq, the rise of social networking/communication/video/audio through the internet, and MJ’s death (because that was seriously worldwide stop-everything event, which is crazy).

      -D!

  2. candi says:

    nice/

  3. Mark Dub says:

    Nice reflection on the 00’s…especially the mention of Tahiry’s ASSets. One of the highlights of the decade for me! LOL! Oh…and thanks, as always, for the dope music!

    • Danj! says:

      I never knew what hit me… everybody was talkin’ about ‘yoooo… did you see Buddens’ girl’s ass?’ and I’m thinkin’ ‘Aight, she got a fat ass’… so I finally check the video on Youtube and it was on some ‘OHHHH, I seeeee’ shit… LMAO

      -D!

  4. MsYoung81 says:

    Great reflection. I think Micheal’s death was an icon event. It was such a surprise. Bush, Obama, 9/11 and the war are also events that changed the world. All the asses and the fights and the beat ups were also great (and sometimes overrated) Celebrities going to jail was also a great trend. It seems like no one was immune (i.e. Martha) and now it seems all the rage. The use of AutoTune made Roger Troutman roll over in his grave. LOL The lack of originality got and is still getting on my nerves. I cant wait to see what the ’10’s got in store for us.

    • MsYoung81 says:

      The 30 was great Danj. Some I didnt expect at all like the Keyshia Cole joint. I never even heard that joint before. Im not a big Keyshia Cole fan. I didnt listen to it and still couldnt get into it. I will try later. I love Devin the Dude. I never want him to become main stream. I love the fact that he is so raw at times. And Amy Winehouse was the shit until she started smoking crack and well…..I never even heard of Jay Electronica, but that is a great song. Maybe I will have to check out some more of his work. I cant believe you put the Amil joint on there. Her career was almost none existant. I really didnt care for her voice. I really didnt care for the song either. Truth Hurts joint will always be classic. To bad she couldnt duplicate it. I honestly didnt think that she would with or without Dre. Some ppl are meant to be one hit wonders. Amerie is another victim. Her first album was great, but she couldnt duplicate it again. Even with the big hit she had….I forgot the name of it…..Oh jeeez I love that damn song..Was it “One Thing”? I dont feel like looking for it. LMAO @ my lazy ass. I do believe that Common and Twista had the best comeback of 90’s artist. Thanks Kanye. Cam’ron is my guilty pleasure. Either though I wanted to smack the fire out of him for the “pink” shit. They had a good run. I am patiently waiting for Sade return. My uncle raised me on her music. I have all her albums and cant wait to add the new one to the list. I will come back later with songs I think you should have added to the list. Great job as always and sorry for responding so late. I was enjoying some mommy and kids time. *blows kiss* Maybe I will include some videos into that list. *thinking*

      • Danj! says:

        What’s up Young…

        AutoTune drove me up the wall… is it “dead”? Haven’t heard it too much lately. If it is, good.

        There were so many songs I wanted to include, but had to leave out… I’m interested to see which ones you’d have added tho’. Good chance I was considering some of ’em myself.

        I’m hopin’ the new decade brings forth something new and fresh. Of course, things always change, so I guess we’ll see soon enough.

        -D!

  5. dinastyinc says:

    Wow….I had to laugh at everything in the wrap-up cause it was soooooo true. And all that ish happened in 10 years (and then some)!?

    Out of everything, only two I didn’t know shit about: Rick Ross getting exposed, Suge gettin’ knocked <<< Damn where was I son!?
    Everything else, on the money though.

    I didn't care too much for music in the 00's (I'm yet and still stuck in the 90's), although 04-05 had some good joints in it for me.
    So glad to see Amy Winehouse "Tears Dry On Their Own" on the list. Love that sample of "Ain't No Mountain High Enough".

    • Danj! says:

      Ohhhhh yeah, you didn’t hear about ey’body finding out Rawse was once a C.O.? And then even after the pictures came out and all that shit, he still denied it, which was the funniest part of the whole shit.

      And oh yeah, Suge got knocked out… like straight knocked out, layin’ in the street… by some dude who was like 5’9″ at that.

      The later half of the ’00s was pretty “blah” for me. There were certain times when a bunch of good songs/albums were out, but far and few between.

      -D!

  6. MsYoung81 says:

    Here I am to submit some of the songs that I think should have made the list. Please all, tell me what you think….

    Day N Nite-Kid Cudi When I first heard this track I didnt know what to think of it. It sounded so weird and a little off By the time I listen to it the 2nd time I know that I was dealing with a song that you had to listen to high. I havent hear one of those in a long time. By the 4th time it had grown on me and I love it.

    Already Home-Jay-Z This song was shit just for this line…”Now these niggas is mad, oh they call me a camel but I mastered the drought, what the fuck Im a animal, half man, half mammal….” That was damn near the hardest shit I heard all year. LMAO

    I Love College-Asher Roth It is always a bunch of copying going on and no one now and days has there own originality, so when a white boy comes along in the rap game and raps about shit that he knows about and is being himself…You have to respect that.

    American Gangsta-Jay Z I know it is a whole album, but I do have my reasons. American Gangsta, to me, was a classic album. The album was a story line. We havent gotten something like that in over a decade. It kinda reminded my of 95-96 Jay.

    Poker Face- Lady Gaga Ok. I know Im going to get some slack for this but I do stand by my decision. When I first saw this chick, I just took her as some chick who would be gone in a minute. But before I could blink she blew up….BIG…to the point even Ms. Bey had to give the girl respect. Yes, she is weird, but I see that as originality and I have grown to love it.

    Boyz and Paper Planes-M.I.A Both songs being released in 2007 didnt catch wind until the following year thanks to a sample that was used in a famous song about swag. Boyz reminds me of Baltimore Club music (which is where she got the idea thanks to a local well loved dj from Baltimore named K-Swift rip)Not heavily played, but I loved it still. I had heard Paper Planes in 2007 and loved it, but also knew it wasnt going to get much air play here. But thanks to “Swagger Like Us” everytime I cut on the radio it was on.

    Touch it-Busta Rhymes You know damn well they played this shit in the hole and then when the remix came out he had everybody in they momma on. He even had Mary J. Blige rapping. Didnt see that one coming. LOL Swiss Beats used a simple from one of my favorite techno groups, Daft Punk(Technologic). You may have heard that name before. Mr. West not only sampled them for Stronger, he put them in the song and video.

    Remind me-Royksopp I know ya’ll looking like what in the hell is that. Oh trust me…you heard this song a million times thanks to a damn Caveman in a Geico commerical. This song was catchy as hell. It made the commerical so popluar they added the name of the song and the artist to the commerical. Next thing I know I was hearing this song on the (black) radio during mixes and even clubs and ppl went nuts. I still love this song to be honest. It’s just great. To me…this song broke down barriers. Because of a commerical people were exposed to something that they would never had listened to other ways. I seen “thugs” rock off to this shit. It is simple, but amazing.

    Letter to B.I.G-Jadakiss This man gets slept on like a necroleptic on a Ambien. This was one of the most heart felt joints in 2009. It was a grown man expressing his feeling which most men dont do these days. I havent even seen the movie. I didnt and still dont have a desire to see, but this song alone summed up my feelings and also brought a tear to my eye.

    The Blast-Talib Kweli and Hi Tek I could listen to this joint all day. I think I did at some point in my life. Just classic hiphop. That is all.

    Come Close and Go-Common I really loved both songs by him and couldnt pick one. Come Close is like a classic hiphop love song to me and with Mary singing you cant go wrong. I am a very sexual person, so when I heard Go it was classic.

    Get By-Talib Kweli This song was a great push in my life at the time and still is. A great mood lifter. Classic.

    Notiable Mentions

    Lost-Gorilla Zoe

    I Wanna Rock-Snoop Dogg

    Murda, Murda-Juelz Santana

    Umi says-Mos Def

    You know that Im no good-Amy Winehouse

    Ok. I turning in to Danj now. Im going to stop. LMAO I swear you could just keep going. I hope ya’ll enjoy my add in to Danj list.

    • Danj! says:

      I like most of those you mentioned… it pretty much came down to picking three a year. I even had some that I really really liked that just didn’t make it because I picked another song by the same artist, or things like that. Funny tho’- I was JUST thinking about ‘Day N Nite’ and thought I shoulda put that in for ’08- I was diggin’ that song heavy when I caught wind of it.

      As for the Common joints… ehhhhhhh, I’m kinda “blah” on his post-’97 music in general. He’s had some songs I liked (‘Come Close’ being one) but overall, not the biggest Common enthusiast.

      Cool list overall, save for Asher Roth and the Gorilla Zoe joint.

      -D!

      • MsYoung81 says:

        GOOD!!!! *clapping for myself* I thought I went a little to over the top. I can do that same times. I just knew I was going to get some slack for the Royksopp song. LOL I thought Common had a good comeback being that his ass shouldnt be revelent being that he had his run in the late 80’s early 90’s. I think Gorilla Zoe should be a bigger artist then what he is. I didnt like his first joint, but the rest was pretty cool.

  7. Alexis says:

    I can’t even recall how many times I played that damnation of a song to figure out Mike Jones number. LOL. I don’t even like him, ugh the things I did out of utter boredom.

Leave a comment