The 2000s Loved The ’90s!

Ah, yes… as I noted in my first “The 90s Loved The 80s” entry, there hasn’t been as much lifting of ’90s hits by the artists of this decade. Part of that, obviously, is due to how much those artists themselves were sampling from older music. But, there were a few quality remakes and whatnot that took place in the 2000s. Some of them were hot, like Carl Thomas & Faith Evans singing over The Firm‘s “Phone Tap. Others were eehhh, like Fabolous & Tamia recycling “So Into You. But here are five that stood out the most to me over the last ten years…

Ashanti feat. Nas & Ja Rule “The Pledge (Remix)” (2002) X 2Pac “So Many Tears” (1995): During the summer that Ja and Nas both went into maniacal rants on the radio, Ashanti’s remix of “The Pledge” paid homage to one of my favorite ‘Pac records “So Many Tears”. Remember when Nas was supposed to be merging w/ Murder Inc. and forming a big movement? No? Yeah, me neither. Y’all niggas wanna see ‘Pac come back?!!

Mary J. Blige feat. Method Man “Love @ 1st Sight” (2003) X A Tribe Called Quest “Hot Sex” (1992) : MJB had a not-so-hot year when she got back with Puff and tried to bring back the old formula with the Love & Life album. I guess it was one of those things people ask for, but don’t really care for once it happens. Anyway, the album did happen to have a number of hot records on it, including this one. In keeping with the early-’90s energy, they utilized the track once known as A Tribe Called Quest’s “Hot Sex” from the Boomerang soundtrack.

Ludacris “Splash Waterfalls (Remix)” (2004) X Tony! Toni! Tone! “Whatever You Want” (1990): One of Luda’s many hits got the remix treatment with the help the Tonies’ “Whatever You Want”. How this one never got much play on the radio baffles me, especially when compared to the inferior album version. Still, the video version gave it some exposure, and Raphael n’nem prob’ly got a nice check, so all was not lost.

T.I. “Why You Wanna” (2006) X Crystal Waters “Gypsy Woman” (1991): The “La-da-dee-la-dee-dah” song returns 15 years after the fact, in the form of T.I.’s “Why You Wanna” from the King album. Who knew a song about a homeless woman could be a hit in the club not once, but twice? I’m sure a gang of producers prob’ly kicked themselves for not thinking to do this sooner. Is you happy?

Robin Thicke “Mrs. Sexy” (2009) X Eric B. & Rakim “Mahogany” (1990): If someone told you in ’90 that the guy who plays Jason Seaver on Growing Pains had a son who’d someday do an almost word-for-word remake of Rakim’s “Mahogany”, would you have believed that? I had my suspicions about this one prior to hearing it, but the singer Rob really pulled this shit off. Wow.

There they go… and NOW… a special announcement. Since those who read, comment, and lurk DLT90s enjoyed the first Dirty 30 so much, I’ll be dropping another one on Thursday morning as my final entry of  the year. This one will be 30 joints from the 2000s. After that, things get back to normal around here with the usual ’90s madness. Stay tuned…

-D!

13 Responses to The 2000s Loved The ’90s!

  1. MsYoung81 says:

    Hey babe. You are right. Artist now really cant sample the 90’s becuz of the heavy sampling that was already being used at the time. Nothing was really original in the 90’s except most of the R&B tracks and we all know that you missed that period (shame on you *spanks hand*. I did like Ashanti “The Pledge”. I was a good homage at the time. I dont remember nothing about Nas and Ja Rule getting together. #kanyeshrug Missed that one. Well since I am a die hard Mary stan I didnt miss that jewel or the album. That album was the shit to me. I still bump it. I didnt care to much for the Ludacris sample of “Whatever You Want”, but I love me some Tony Toni Tone. They are the shit and they really need to get back together. Some real greatness right there. Listened to “Whatever You Want” 3x already (and going for a fourth). Being as tho Crystal was a hometown girl, I already knew it was going to be a hit. I remember have to dance to this in my dance group. lls T.I did an excellent job as using this as a sample. All he did was slow down the intro to the song. Genius. I never heard the Robin Thicke song becuz I hadnt brought the album yet, but this song is really going to have me go and buy it tomorrow. I love Robin ever since he was riding the bike through the city using classical music as a sample. Great freaking job as usual Danj. Love ya! *blows kiss*

    • Danj! says:

      Ayyyy, that’s what I like to see… Young comin’ thru with the thorough insight! haha *catches kiss*

      Heeeey, I didn’t miss the whole ’90s R&B thing- I think it was a good year and a half when I was on my “fuck R&B” kick- I wanna say from mid-’93 to near the end of ‘94. ‘My Life’ and a few other joints brought me back around.

      “Whatever You Want” might be my fav. Tonies song- toss-up btwn that, “Southern California” and “Baby Doll”.

      oh, and one I forgot about- Erykah’s “Bag Lady” sampling Dre’s “Xxplosive”. BOOM.

      -D!

      • MsYoung81 says:

        How could you forget that? (And me too) Both of the joints were hot. “Bag Lady” was the shit. I dont care where you went at the time, you heard “Bag Lady” everywhere. She was killing ppl with that track and my stupid ass cousin going to holla out she talking about how many bags you carrying. smh LMAO

        There was a time in hiphop history where if you didnt have Nate Dogg doing your hook on your track, it wasnt hot. I hope he gets better soon. I do miss his voice.

  2. sickwitit says:

    1. “so many tears” shits on the “pledge”, because pac shts on ashanti/nas/ja lol

    2. the hot sex beat is ridiculous, but neither are great songs to me…

    3. i love splash waterfalls remix and whatever you want both equally

    i agree danj the faith evans/carl thomas song was fire, those are some singers, too bad theyre also bad boy casualties smh

    • Danj! says:

      1. no argument there!

      2. woorrrrd? Maybe it is mostly the beat, but I fux w/ both of those allll day.

      3. It’d be hard for me to like the Luda joint as much as I do the Tonies’ joint, but I feel ya.

      4. haha, ey’body’s a Bad Boy casualty- Carl more so than Faith tho’. She at least got to be a part of it when it was about building artists and careers. Carl came in on the tail end of that, lol. Great album though.

      -D!

  3. jayehunnie says:

    Well dayum, the 00’s did bite the 90’s pretty hard!

    That’s ass backwards because 00’s fashion mimicked the 80’s. *head scratch* I guess in the upcoming decade we should get ready for the return of grunge/lumberjacks/ruffhead fashion trends and Weezy sampling his OWN cuts from the 00’s. Haha *smh*
    (But seriously it looks like lumberjacks are back)

    • Danj! says:

      Yep, the lumberjacks are back, the plaids are back… when will we get the HBCU hoodies and hockey jerseys back? *crosses fingers* HAAAAA!

      -D!

  4. Mark Dub says:

    LMAO @ “If someone told you in ‘90 that the guy who plays Jason Seaver on Growing Pains had a son who’d someday do an almost word-for-word remake of Rakim’s “Mahogany”, would you have believed that? I had my suspicions about this one prior to hearing it, but the singer Rob really pulled this shit off. Wow.”

    The funniest thing is that Jason Seaver’s son is soulful as HAIL. Cat makes GREAT music, and I can’t deny him that. He has the Blue-eyed soul-game on LOCK!

  5. dinastyinc says:

    The only ones I caught were the Mary J and Luda joints. I was excited about Mary’s new/former sound being back with Puffy. And then…that was the only song I heard from her during that reunion.

    I enjoy dark shades, drug-induced battered woman, hip-hop dancing Mary in a different way than I enjoy grown woman, Holy Ghost catching, banking with commercials for Chevy and ATT Mary. I love them both equally. She should just leave that past in the past, and keep going higher (and bankrolling more dough) with her sound of redemption.

    I didn’t know until a couple years later that the Luda song was sampled from my boys the Tonies. Love the originial, hate the remix simply because down here it was everywhere on the radio. Couldn’t get away from it. Got played out like it was a Beyonce record LOL.

  6. Armin Van Buuren Videos…

    […]The 2000s Loved The ’90s! « DanjLovesThe90s![…]…

  7. You finished approximately correct factors there. I looked around the web for the problem and found most folks will chance down with with your web site.

  8. You completed a quantity of to begin with scale factors there. I seemed on the web for the issue and found most community will chance together with along with your website.

Leave a comment